How to Enter

This step by step guide will take you through the process for entering all of the categories – except Sustainable Project of the Year and Volunteer(s) of the Year which have different steps to follow. Once you are happy with the process and are ready to enter visit the Awards Categories page.

If you have any questions regarding the entry process or your eligibility please refer to our FAQs in the first instance or contact our team directly – [email protected] +44 (0)1905 724734.

To view this as a printable PDF please click here.

  • 1. Choose your category

    Click here to view the categories for 2020.

  • 2. Carefully read the category specific criteria

    You will need to ensure that you tailor your written paper to address the criteria for each category.

  • 3. Complete Your Written Entry Paper Plus Page Of Images

    Getting this paper right is key to success. It must be tailored to the category criteria and it must contain all your main facts – it needs to ‘sell’ the project to our judging panel. This information must stand alone and not rely on supporting materials (see below).  Click here or take a look at the images below to see an example of what your entry paper should look like.


    Your entry paper (two pages stapled to one page of four captioned images) must respond to the criteria of the category which you are entering (see above), must be written in English and must include ALL the following entry paper headings:

    1. Category Entered

    2. Organisation/Company/Client name (if you are entering on behalf of a client please make this clear eg John Smith & Co on behalf of The XYZ Museum)

    3. Title of project/exhibition/campaign/service being entered

    4Brief summary of team involved

    Then tailor the following sections to the catergory specific criteria:

    5. Description of the project/exhibition/campaign/service

    6. Overall objective

    7. Implementation

    8. Creativity and/or originality

    9. Impact on visitor numbers where applicable, please be clear about the scale and reach of your project. Provide us with the facts!

    10. Outcome, including formal evaluation of results

    11. Cost of delivery and Return on Investment – please note these figures will be treated confidentially

    Please note the following restrictions:

    – Your Written Entry Paper should not exceed 2 sides of A4 and a minimum font size of 11 pt.  This two page paper should be stapled to your single page of four captioned images. Please do not bind it.

  • 4. Print Ten Copies Of Your Written Entry Paper

    Each copy should consist of your two page entry paper stapled to a page of photos which best illustrate your entered project – all as outlined above. Please do not bind or place in a folder or plastic wallet.

  • 5. Compile Your Supporting Materials

    Your written Entry Paper must contain all the key facts, illustrating how it meets the criteria and is deserving of recognition. It must be strong enough in its own right to convince the judging panel of why it should win but you are also encouraged to submit further materials in support of your entry, as follows:

    Compulsory: 6 high resolution images in jpeg format on a USB – please ensure these really illustrate your entry and that the USB is labelled.


    Video (must be submitted on DVD or USB in a PC compatible format) – please ensure this video is directly relating to the project described in your entry

    Any relevant additional information which you think will help ‘sell’ your entry to the judges such as attitudinal research, marketing literature, market share detail, productivity analysis, product samples, media coverage, internet coverage – please ensure that you submit the relevant URL and any necessary passwords to allow access to a site.

  • 6. Download and Complete The Entry Form

    You are welcome to enter the same project into multiple categories or to enter different projects, in which case please use one Entry Form per project. Ensure you complete all the required fields on this form and then include the form in your entry package as per the process outlined below. The entry fees are as follows:

    Single entry = £100 (with the exception of Limited Budget Project of the Year which is just £60 and the Volunteer(s) of the Year Award which is free to enter)

    Each additional entry = £60 (regardless of whether the project is the same or not)

  • 7. Package everything up and get it in the post!

    Check that you have 1 x Entry Form (per project); 10 x 3 page Written Entry Paper (2 written pages stapled to 1 page of four captioned images) together with your supporting materials, including your USB of 6 images and any other relevant supporting materials (see point 5). Please ensure that your entry is properly packaged to minimise chances of damage during delivery and contained either within a strong envelope or box file. Your entry must arrive in the Awards office (address below) by Friday 31 January 2020.

    Sara Bowen
    Museums + Heritage Awards
    M and H Media Ltd
    The Coach House
    Sharman Road
    WR1 3LA

    Good luck and fingers crossed!

>> Entering the Awards - a short how-to video

View the Categories

Awards Sponsors & Partners